Pool contractors fall under the purview of the Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB). You will not be granted a license if you do not meet ALL the qualifications, even if you pass the exam. There are three pool contractor licenses: Commercial, Residential or Service.  There are seven specialty licenses focusing on various items and a residential service license.

License FAQ
License App Instructions
For questions relating to your application, you must contact the Department of Business and Professional Regulation Customer Contact Center at (850) 487-1395.

Specialty License FAQs

Specialty License Rule 

FL Construction
Licensing Board

The Pool Exam

Call FSPA for guidance at 941-952-9293

There are three pool contractor license types:
  1. Commercial contractors can...
      • Build new pools/spas
      • Renovate existing pools/spas
      • Service residential and commercial pools/spas
  2. Residential contractors can...
      • Build new residential pools/spas
      • Renovate existing commercial and residential pools/spas
      • Service commercial and residential pools/spas
  3. Service contractors can...
      • Service/repair commercial (some restrictions) and residential pools/spas
      • Renovate existing commercial (some restrictions) and residential pools/spas
      • Excludes all new construction
Specialty licenses cannot contract directly with homeowners, but the service specialty license can. Specialty License FAQs and Specialty License Rule. The Residential Pool/Spa Servicing Specialty Contractor license information can be found on the CILB website including a FAQ.


  1. Be at least 18 years old
  2. Bachelor’s degree (in the appropriate field) and 1 year of proven experience OR 4 years of active field experience (may substitute up to 3 years of college credits for experience)
  3. Demonstrate financial responsibility and stability
  4. Submit to fingerprinting for a background check
  5. Proof of public liability and property damage insurance and workers’ compensation or exemption
  6. Taken and passed the examination
    1. Rule 61G4-16.009, FAC, grants examination candidates four years from the date he or she initially sat for the initial licensure examination to pass all portions and are not be limited in the number of times they may re-take a test during the four year period. If you have any questions, visit http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/construction-industry/ or call 850-487-1395.

If you meet the criteria, the first step toward licensure is taking and passing the pool exam.


Information on the state contractor's exam can be found here:  www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/examination-information/construction-examinations/